Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Candidates Announced for APA's 2018 Election

The APA Nominating Committee, chaired by APA Immediate Past President Maria A. Oquendo, M.D., Ph.D., today announced the candidates for the Association's 2018 election.

Glenn A. Martin, M.D.
Bruce J. Schwartz, M.D.
Stephen M. Strakowski, M.D.

Brian Crowley, M.D.
Gregory W. Dalack, M.D.

Robert E. Feder, M.D.
Richard F. Summers, M.D.

Early Career Psychiatrists Trustee-at-Large
Héctor Colón-Rivera, M.D.
Mark A. Haygood, D.O., M.S.
Ayana Jordan, M.D., Ph.D.

Area 1 Trustee
John M. De Figueiredo, M.D.
Eric M. Plakun, M.D.

Area 4 Trustee
Ronald M. Burd, M.D.
Cheryl D. Wills, M.D.

Area 7 Trustee
Annette M. Matthews, M.D.
James A. Polo, M.D., M.B.A.
Joshua Sonkiss, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect
Anne Clark-Raymond, M.D.
Rana Elmaghraby, M.D.
Helena Winston, M.D.

The deadline for candidates who wish to run by petition is November 15. All candidates and their supporters are encouraged to review APA's Election Guidelines. For more election information, please visit the Election section on APA's website or email election@psych.org.

The slate of candidates who have been nominated is considered public but not official until it is approved by the APA Board of Trustees at its December meeting. APA members may cast their ballots from January 2 to January 31, 2018.

(Image: Sergey Ivanov)


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.