Friday, November 1, 2013

APA Announces Candidates in 2014 Election

The APA Nominating Committee, chaired by immediate past APA President Dilip Jeste, M.D., today released the names of the following candidates who have been chosen to compete in the Association's 2014 election:

    Renée Binder, M.D.
    James Nininger, M.D.
    Mark Rappaport, M.D.

    Frank Brown, M.D.
    James Greene, M.D.

Trustee-at Large:
    Anita Everett, M.D.
    Steve McLeod-Bryant, M.D.

Member-in-Training Trustee-elect:
    Vittoria DeLucia, M.D.
    Heather Liebherr, D.O.
    Ravi Shah, M.D.

Area 2 Trustee:
    Jack Drescher, M.D.
    Vivian Pender, M.D.

Area 5 Trustee:
    R. Scott Benson, M.D.
    Harold Ginzburg, M.D.
    Gary Weinstein, M.D.

Links to the candidates’ websites will appear in the December 20 issue of Psychiatric News. On January 2, instructions and links to members’ online ballots and candidate information will be e-mailed to all voting members for whom APA has a valid e-mail address. The remaining members will be mailed a paper ballot. Voting will also begin January 2 and conclude on January 31 at 5 p.m. Eastern time. The deadline for petition candidates in November 15.

The information about the candidates who have been nominated is public but not official until approved by the Board at its December 2013 meeting. For more information about the APA election, including election guidelines, click here.


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.