Wednesday, February 12, 2020

APA Announces Results of 2020 Election

APA’s Committee of Tellers has approved the following results of APA’s 2020 national election. Please note that these results are considered public but not official until approved by the Board of Trustees at its meeting on March 14 and 15 in Washington, D.C.

Vivian B. Pender, M.D.

Richard F. Summers, M.D.

Michele Reid, M.D.

Area 2 Trustee
Glenn A. Martin, M.D.

Area 5 Trustee
Jenny Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-elect
Sanya Virani, M.D., M.P.H.

“I congratulate Dr. Pender and all of today’s successful candidates on their election,” said APA President Bruce Schwartz, M.D. “I look forward to collaborating with them as APA works to improve access to and quality of mental health care for all.”

Pender’s term as APA president-elect will begin this April at the conclusion of the APA Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, when current President-elect Jeffrey Geller, M.D., M.P.H., begins his one-year term as president.

“APA members and the profession of psychiatry will be well served by the leadership of Dr. Pender,” said APA CEO and Medical Director Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A. “I have known her for years, and her dedication and passion for psychiatry will greatly benefit APA during her tenure.”

Complete results of the election will be reported in the March 6 issue of Psychiatric News.

Follow Psychiatric News on Twitter!

And check out the new Psychiatric News Brief on Alexa-enabled devices.


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.