Thursday, October 14, 2021

Candidates for APA's 2022 Election Announced

The APA Nominating Committee, chaired by Immediate Past President Jeffrey Geller, M.D., M.P.H., has reported the following slate of candidates (in alphabetical order) for APA’s 2022 election. This slate has been approved by the Board of Trustees and is considered official.

The deadline for candidates who wish to run by petition is November 10. APA voting members may cast their ballots from January 3, 2022, to January 31, 2022.

APA’s election guidelines have been changed as part of a pilot test for the 2022 and 2023 elections. All campaigning is prohibited except through APA-managed activities and other activities as the APA Elections Committee may permit. The changes are meant to level the playing field for all candidates and ensure that APA’s leadership reflects the diversity of the APA membership and thus includes candidates who are from minority and underrepresented groups. APA activities include a special APA election newsletter that includes candidates’ platforms, which will be emailed to all voting members about December 1, and a series of town halls with the candidates for which members may submit questions for candidates and RSVP to attend.

For more election details, please visit the Election section of the APA website.

Petros Levounis, M.D., M.A.
James B. Potash, M.D., M.P.H.

C. Freeman, M.D., M.B.A.
Richard F. Summers, M.D.

Samuel O. Okpaku, M.D., Ph.D.
Michele Reid, M.D.

Area 3 Trustee
Kenneth M. Certa, M.D.
Geetha Jayaram, M.B.B.S., M.B.A., 
Mark S. Komrad, M.D.

Area 6 Trustee
Mary Ann Schaepper, M.D., M.Ed.
Shannon Suo, M.D.
Barbara Yates Weissman, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect
Faiz Kidwai, D.O., M.P.H.
Mary-Anne Hennen, M.D.
Seth L. Daly Stennis, M.D.


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.