Monday, February 12, 2024

APA Announces Results of 2024 Election

At its meeting on February 9, APA’s Committee of Tellers approved the following results for APA’s 2024 national election. Please note that these results are considered public but not official until approved by the Board of Trustees at its meeting on March 9 and 10.

Theresa M. Miskimen Rivera, M.D.

Steve Koh, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.

Trustee at Large
Patricia Westmoreland, M.D.

Early Career Psychiatrist Trustee
Sudhakar K. Shenoy, M.D. 

Area 1 Trustee
John C. Bradley, M.D.

Area 4 Trustee
Dionne Hart, M.D.

Area 7 Trustee
Mary Hasbah Roessel, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect
Nicolas K. Fletcher, M.D., M.H.S.A.

“Our profession faces multiple challenges,” Miskimen Rivera said in a news release. “We need a cohesive, actionable, multi-year strategy to enact effective and permanent change. As president, I will focus on the workforce challenges facing psychiatry, with the ultimate goal being to reverse these challenges, enabling greater fulfillment in our practices and achieving better patient outcomes.”

Miskimen Rivera is chair and medical director of the Department of Psychiatry at Hunterdon Medical Center in Flemington, N.J. A speaker of English and Spanish, she has worked for 30 years to improve access and delivery of psychiatric care to bilingual and bicultural communities. She has held appointed positions under the three past governors of New Jersey to address mental health issues spanning the intersection of technology and the delivery of psychiatric care, mental health in university settings, and youth suicide prevention.

Miskimen Rivera is an APA delegate on the AMA’s Section Council on Psychiatry and is a member of the American College of Psychiatrists. She is also a clinical professor of psychiatry at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

“Congratulations to everyone who has been elected to APA’s Board of Trustees,” said APA President Petros Levounis, M.D., M.A. “I look forward to working with all of them to lead APA’s efforts as we continue to innovate, advocate, and research on behalf of the doctors who serve millions of patients and families with substance use and mental health disorders.”

Commented APA CEO and Medical Director Saul Levin, M.D., M.P.A., “I’m so pleased for Dr. Miskimen Rivera, a longtime colleague and friend of APA, to become our president,” said “With her long track record of leadership throughout the organization and in her home state, she is a proven leader and will bring much experience to her year as president.”

Miskimen Rivera’s term as APA president-elect will begin in May at the conclusion of APA’s 2024 Annual Meeting, when President-Elect Ramaswamy Viswanathan, M.D., begins his one-year term as president. The other newly elected trustees will also begin their terms of office then as well.

Don't miss out! To learn about newly posted articles in Psychiatric News, please sign up here.


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.