Friday, October 11, 2019

Candidates for APA's 2020 Election Announced

The APA Nominating Committee, chaired by immediate past President Altha Stewart, M.D., reports the following slate of candidates for APA’s 2020 election. This slate is considered public, but not official, until the Board of Trustees approves it at its December 2019 meeting.

David C. Henderson, M.D.
Vivian B. Pender, M.D.

Ann Marie T. Sullivan, M.D.
Richard F. Summers, M.D.

Frank Clark, M.D.
Mark Komrad, M.D.
Michele Reid, M.D.

Area 2 Trustee
James P. Kelleher, M.D., M.B.A.
Glenn A. Martin, M.D.

Area 5 Trustee
Jenny Boyer, M.D., Ph.D., J.D.
Philip L. Scurria, M.D.

Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect
Mariam Aboukar, D.O.
Aatif Mansoor, M.D.
Sanya Virani, M.D., M.P.H.

The deadline for candidates who wish to run by petition is November 15. All candidates and their supporters are encouraged to review APA’s Election Guidelines. Candidates’ photos and the addresses of their personal websites will be published in the December 20 issue of Psychiatric News.

APA voting members may cast their ballots from January 2 to January 31, 2020. For more election information, please visit the Election section of APA’s website or email

Follow Psychiatric News on Twitter!

And check out the new Psychiatric News Brief on Alexa-enabled devices.


The content of Psychiatric News does not necessarily reflect the views of APA or the editors. Unless so stated, neither Psychiatric News nor APA guarantees, warrants, or endorses information or advertising in this newspaper. Clinical opinions are not peer reviewed and thus should be independently verified.